Boom Recorder and Mix Pre-D

i used to do a lot of MIDI music with my PC and Yamaha keyboards, but that was a while back. I am looking into getting back into using computers. Boom Recorder for my Mac. My questions is, how in the heck do I get multi-track inputs into my Macbook Pro? I have seen USB audio interfaces/mixers, so I am thinking this is the way. I have a Sounddevices Mix Pre-D, but it only mixes two channels, plus two more via tape return, so that's a start, but still it would be nice to get multi-track into the laptop. Also, does the USB audio interface somehow separate channels 3 and 4 into separate tracks? Forgive me for being a total noob.

BR is a great acquisition tool, esp for video audio, but it really is not designed for what we think of as multitrack recording for music. It has no editing, very very basic monitor style mixing, no ability to overdub, no ability to use plug ins and no MIDI recording or editing. In fact, its lack of all these things are many of the reasons movie recordists like BR--it is simple, direct and works very well for a very specialized task. For music work w. MIDI I'd suggest Cubase or Nuendo or Digital Performer. Re using the MPD as an interface, it's partly down to whether or not your app recognizes it. There a LOTS of cheap USB interfaces out there now--you could use your MPD's mic pres and then go in through the other interface, which might be easier to set up with whatever app you end up using.

phil p