I'm not feeling ISOlated

Mick

I have a Deva V, with a Deva 2 as backup. Two separate and independent systems. I have the capability of recording eight separate tracks if necessary. Yet...given the choice, which I am, I rarely even bother to activate tracks three through eight. I'd like to think it was because I think the "mixing" buck, at least the "dialogue mixing buck" stops here. I am a mixer. I spent many years in the U.K. and in Miami mixing music, contemporary and classical, recorded and live,  for a living. I was a house producer at Phillips records (subsidiary of EMI) when I was in my late twenties, so I have a diverse background in audio mixing. Let me state unequivocally though, that my experience is mostly creative rather than technical. So, I repeat, I'm a mixer, not just a recordist.

It was all of this that flashed through my mind as I looked at the agitated meters of the six wires and two booms that were active in a scene today, and the caustic remark that almost passed from my mouth into the realm of unretractable when some bright haddock says to me...

"You should record everything to separate tracks and let post have the option to mix it later"