48.048 for the first time

Guest Eric Lamontagne

Guest Eric Lamontagne

Yes, I'm new at this so I would like to ask the group...

I'm just starting a small low budget 16mm doc on the FR2 and considering 29.97 48k with the pull up option enabled. I've been told this renders 30ndf at 48.048khz. On import into Final Cut, I'm hoping this works out to a slow down of speed to the NLE timeline. Film shot 24fps will be transfered MOS to 29.97ndf video, imported and then sunk up in FCsP (final cut semi-pro!). Film will then be cut manually from the EDL produced by Final Cut. This film cut will be delivered to a transfer house that is requesting 29.97ndf 48k audio to sync with it. This is where things are weird for me as 29.97ndf audio would have to be then sped back up to sync with the original film. Of course I have to be the post supervisor as well on this because it's low/no budget.Please send me any thoughts you have on this workflow as this is my first time with 48.048.

Eric Lamontagne

My brain hurts.  Are they doing this so they can have an HD delivery while avoiding the cost of an HD transfer with the dailies?  The transfer house is probably asking for a FINAL SOUND EDIT at 29.97/48 to sync with their 29.97 HD output from the transfer of the negative cut.  My guess is that if there is some sort of magic voodoo, they would want 30/48048 final sound to "transfer" with the 24FPS film to create their video master.  But since I don't think that's possible, they will probably sync it after the transfer.

This begs the questions... are they manually syncing all of your audio in FCP to edit?  Are you using a 16mm camera with TC input?  Are you TC slating?  Why not transfer audio with dailies?  Who is taking care of the sound edit?  What do they suggest?