Feeding TC to Zoom and F5

Lefteris

Hi guys,

I'm new both here in this forum and in the sound mixing profession so please go easy on me.

I got a call for a job, no-budget feature, got hired and then they decide to tell me they want TC. Now, I'm using an SQN with a zoom h4n and i've been trying to figure out how to do this as I've never done TC before.

I read plenty, and still got more to go, but i keep coming to the same questions that remain unanswered so I'm hoping somebody here can clarify things for me.

Here goes:

1. How bad, if any, will noise from the TC track bleed to the audio track? And how do I stop it from bleeding? (i read somewhere to keep the volume in the middle but I wasnt convinced)

2. Do I set the camera to DF or NDF?

3. I assume both the camera and the zoom will be "slaves" to the TC generator. I checked the F5 manual and it doesn't have an option for slave/master. Do I set it as master or will it automatically accept the TC from the generator?

4. Any other issues I should be aware?

Any answers would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks for the advice Chris. I think you missed the part were I said they hired me first and then they told me about TC 1. I wrote my kit 2. I would if they had one 3. I wasn't aware the zoom could be a master (sarcasm in case you didnt get it). If I could have a 744t I wouldnt be asking about sending tc to a zoom.   

Lose the Zoom (it is an amateur toy and should not be used for this), the camera audio is far superior.  The camera generates its own timecode, just feed your audio to the camera and let the camera department deal with the timecode specs. Without a professional timecode recorder you are asking for a world of hurt.