Real estate agents in NYC

Jesse Flaitz

Hopefully this is a good place to post this I'm not really sure.  I have somewhat limited connections to people who have purchased apartments in NYC and I'm hoping to use what resources I have to find a good real estate agent to help me in buying a place.

If anyone has any recommendations either from personal experience, or from friends/family experience, I'd really appreciate it.  Please PM here or send an email to jessef at pedanticsound dot net.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!! 

Jesse,

I'm a licensed Real Estate/Mortgage Broker in CA. I can answer any questions you may have and give you some good tips to make the entire process successful.

1. For starters, I would recommend getting qualified for a loan before you get an agent. In fact, you should pull your own credit report and use that to shop around for a lender in your area. By pulling your own credit report you accomplish two things: 1) since it's not a "hard pull" it won't affect your credit score 2) you won't fall victim to the typical lender game of "I need to pull your credit in order to quote you a rate and complete your loan application". Most lenders know that if they pull your credit your more likely to complete the transaction with them out of fear of having someone else pull it and thus lowering your score. When that happens you lose your control/leverage and thus set yourself up for bait and switch.