Concert Sound to Location Sound

Sloan Stewart

I'm a live sound engineer accustomed to doing large concerts for national acts but I'm looking to get into some location sound as I've always had an interest in film even before I got into music so long ago. With that said I am most interested in documentary and will be looking for work around the Nashville and Atlanta areas.

I am aware that most of my skills and equipment will not be useful in location sound so I'm here for advice on getting started putting a versatile kit together and snagging some work.

Workflow

What is an average day in the field like?

What is expected of the sound guy past a positive attitude and capturing good tracks?

Is it common for you to do some post work before submitting your files?

Gear

*** I do not want this topic to devolve I into a cork sniffing gear battle so keep specific brands etc out of this thread, just PM me if you need to mention something specific***

What are the average amount of tracks needed for most jobs?

Is it smarter to invest in gear to mix down to a camera or to capture separate recordings (in my mind having dedicated multiple tracks is best)?

Other

What is the typical way to get paid doing low budget work?

Any pitfalls to look out for as a beginner?

Where to find work other than craigslist etc?

For those interested, some of my own personal video junk can be viewed at http://www.youtube.com/sloanstewart

From your questions you seem to be very inexperienced in video audio, which you acknowledge.  I would strongly suggest that instead of looking for work in this field right away you do some little research and then some "job shadowing"--following and maybe helping a location sound professional on some jobs so you can discover what questions you really need answered.  Find out who is doing the work you are interested in in your area and get in touch with them.  You probably started in live sound the same way...

philp