Props to your boom operators

John Coffey

The recent thread on boom operators got me thinking, as I've always had a special affinity to them as the unsung heros on the sets. Maybe because I was a way better boom operator myself than I ever was as a mixer. I loved the challenge it took to get an open mic overhead through a matrix of lights and admired the best ones I worked with. Like Tim Salmon, Beau Baker and Don Coufal.

So I'd love to see some pics posted here of your boom operators in action.

ps. Jeff, I would also suggest that your great site have a forum section maybe called Boom Operator's Chat.

John Coffey

The recent thread on boom operators got me thinking, as I've always had a special affinity to them as the unsung heros on the sets. Maybe because I was a way better boom operator myself than I ever was as a mixer. I loved the challenge it took to get an open mic overhead through a matrix of lights and admired the best ones I worked with. Like Tim Salmon, Beau Baker and Don Coufal.

So I'd love to see some pics posted here of your boom operators in action.

ps. Jeff, I would also suggest that your great site have a forum section maybe called Boom Operator's Chat.

John Coffey

I agree J C. I still think of myself as a 20- 30 something year old boom op.  Crazy.   As a mixer of 26 years, I rely and count on the front line pro I work with, aka the Boom Op,  to run the show. They are the 1st to hear it, 1st to know if it works. Personally as a team member, I love the Zen skills the boom op brings to the show.

CrewC

I agree J C. I still think of myself as a 20- 30 something year old boom op.  Crazy.   As a mixer of 26 years, I rely and count on the front line pro I work with, aka the Boom Op,  to run the show. They are the 1st to hear it, 1st to know if it works. Personally as a team member, I love the Zen skills the boom op brings to the show.

CrewC