2 mono overhead mics

Bill Kerrigan

This is my first post on this forum , so I apologize if this subject has been discussed before.

I’m a DP who often records sound on the camera, when shooting interviews.

Traditionally I use both a lav and overhead mic on a fixed stand.

The majority of my clients want the lav hidden.

I use either a Sanken COS-11R, Tram or Rode Pin lavaliere.

I own all the bits and pieces needed to hide a lav… and over the years, sound recordists have kindly shown me how to do it.

When I’ve ask editors after post, which sound track was used… 95 percent tell me the overhead and the others use a blend. So, on my shoots the lav appears to be, just a rarely used safety track.

Because some interviewees tend to move forward and back, I’ve been experimenting for the last 6 months placing 2 overhead mics with different patterns on the boom, then letting the editor choose the track they prefer.

Does anyone else use 2 mono overhead mics?

If not why?

Thanks,

Bill Kerrigan 

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi, Bill, and welcome: " Does anyone else use 2 mono overhead mics? "

I suppose...

" If not why? "

maybe we know better...?

" I’ve been experimenting for the last 6 months placing 2 overhead mics with different patterns on the boom, then letting the editor choose the track they prefer. "

which do you prefer..?  ...and which do "they" prefer ??

there you go!

" I apologize if this subject has been discussed before "

no need to apologize, it isn't your fault.

usually this is discussed as: 'what is the best mic...'

... and the (subjective) answer is always: 'it depends'.

Mark: " Then a recommendation can be made "

well, maybe Mark (another camera-person?) will make a recommendation...

and...

Bill: " when shooting interviews... The majority of my clients want the lav hidden. "

why ??

style over substance..?

are they hiding the fact that this is an interview ??

take a look at all the visible lav's: