Recording TC on audio track issue.

johngooch

Revived this thread-  scroll down to bottom for new posts.   

Hi everybody,

I've run into a weirdness with TC.  I was helping a friend on music video project and it was decided that we do a live recording and treat the project as live concert.  No playback to artists.  

I decided to feed TC a pro-tools system that was manned by one of the bands mixer.  I am not a pro-tools person.  Audio was fed to the 16th track of the pro-tools input.  The TC source was an ambient slate.

When the tracks were mixed and distilled down to stereo master the editor was delivered 3 mono wav files.  L/R/TC.   In avid the Audio TC to be rendered as readable TC.  Some TC files were readable some were not.  

Doing some research as to why some files were good and some were bad,  i listened to wav files and found that some devices were able to read the code some simply would not.  Some devices needed the TC to be bumped up in level to be read.  The code was recorded at -6db. 

tried to use GR-1 as a reshaper but that had no effect on stability.

Ambient slate:  Read code just fine without need to adjust level

Ambient Iphone App: Read code without adjustment.

Denecke GR-1: Read code with adjustment of level

Movieslate:  Needed adjustment of level to read with any stability.

Denecke Time code toolbox app:  Refused to read any of the code.  

So my question is --  has anybody had an issue like this with audio TC?  Some devices reading code and some not?  Is avid temperamental regarding Audio TC?  Is there a particular level that it likes?  

Thanks,

john.