If you weren't a sound mixer, then what would you be?

Eric Toline

Seems like an interesting question. What would you have done if you didn't go into this business? Since I started this I'll go first. I would have loved to open a bait & tackle shop on Nantucket or in the Bahamas. Don't laugh, I was a partner in one 30 years ago in N.Y.

Eric

I WAS a cinematographer and director, back in the day.  I guess I could also have tried harder to stay a musician.  I got a degree that qualified me to be a librarian, esp. of non-book media (as we called it then), tried it for a few months and quit.  TV news camera was another possibility, did that for awhile too.  Same w/ commercial still photography.  Edited a few small magazines, wrote for papers etc..  In production, I spent several years as a PA, then a grip, and even gaffed a low-budg feature and gripped a TV movie.  Production (and later post production) sound seem to provide a steadier income, and people seemed to leave me alone more on jobs, and I liked that I guess.  A film sound location mixer has a level of responsibility, respect and income that I admired in the mixers I met early on (esp. David Macmillan and Nigel Noble), and I thought I'd give that a try.  Still here.

Philip Perkins

Fun thread!