Tech tips for Aaton Cantar X2

Alan A

I have a question about the Aaton Cantar X2, I know a lot of mixers use it so figured would be a good place to ask questions,

I have been using the Cantar for a couple months now, and love it. Its a great machine, but very complicated to use. I know its probably not the best recorder to first start out with but I like a challenge.

My question is, the mixer faders on the top of the Cantar, do I have to assign the tracks or mics to those faders? Or am I just crazy and they are there for a different reason?

And yes I have read the manual but translated from french to english it makes 0 sense. I had to get a friend of mine that speaks french to read the french version to learn how to format the HDD.

But I think im doing pretty well as of now, I figured out most of the Cantar on my own. Just little things like that mixer faders.

So if anyone could give me some tips on it it would be great!

Alan

I have been using the Cantar for a couple months now, and love it. Its a great machine, but very complicated to use.

I've been using mine for about a year and must admit that I still encounter things that puzzle me. It is complicated but complex because it offers so many capabilities.

You should probably contact Mike Paul at Location Sound and schedule a sit-down orientation session with him. I expect he would be generous with his time (within reason) even if you didn't purchase the recorder through LSC.

You should also sign up for the Cantar user group:

cantar-users-request@aaton.com

Now, the faders-

First, it's a optional feature and one that you may have no need of on a regular basis. If you use the Cantar with a mixing panel, as I do, you really don't use the on-board faders. (Disclaimer - since I don't use them regularly, I may not be the best to explain them. I invite Scott Harbor or Scott Farr to jump in here and correct or update me.)