IATSE...Local 52...More Info?

marque

I've been having more people ask me about IATSE membership lately.  Generally in NY from most people I've spoke to it tends to be more limiting than helping since 90% of the work is non-union.  While the jobs may not be as good, or as well paying they are almost always available.  I decided that I would at least look into joining which here means the local 52.  I asked for more information as to requirements, limits, benefits, etc. and all I got was where to send the application and how much it would cost plus that I would have to take my craft test.  Is there anyone here that could provide more in depth details?  I'm trying to find out frequency of work, what is involved in the craft test, do I really need the certificate of training to operate an aerial work platform if I'm doing sound and if so does my flight training with the Army cover this (I was a UH60 aka Blackhawk pilot), etc.

Thanx,

Marque

Guest tourtelot

Your problem will be, if things remain as they did when I finally join, will be attaining membership.  It is still one of the hardest IA locals to gain membership in.  Took me ten years(!) in the 80s.

I've been having more people ask me about IATSE membership lately.  Generally in NY from most people I've spoke to it tends to be more limiting than helping since 90% of the work is non-union.