Over the shoulder on a movie-of-the-week

Jeff Wexler

"Revenge For A Rape" with Mike Connors (remember "Mannix"?), shooting in Vancouver, Canada, 1975 (runaway production way back then?)

I had Rob Young as the Boom Operator --- Rob is a really good guy who went on to be a very accomplished mixer doing such movies as Clint Eastwood's "Unforgiven."

Regards,  Jeff Wexler

post-1-130815073628_thumb.jpg

Guest repete86

I would be willing to manually wind a nagra if I had one.  I'm pretty new to film audio, and have just been working on student films so far, so I don't have any equipment of my own other than a few recording devices that would probably spell disaster for any set I try to take them on, a boom and homemade shockmount.  I do have a Teac reel to reel 4-track, but it's way too heavy and impractical for a set.

EDIT:  I just tried using my Teac, and it sounds amazing.  I don't think I'll go back any time soon since it's the best I can afford at the moment.

Post the picture of the Nagra when the lid stopped the reel and it looked like a pile of spaghetti, and you sat there as everyone watched you wind it back onto the reel, oh that was me....  really inspires confidence !

LL

It happened to everybody sooner or later.  With the 7" reel cover the space between the lid and the reel was very narrow.  If your hinges got bent from setting the machine down a little briskly too many times......  I took one of mine apart in a hotel room one (all) night to shim some bent hinges out--it required taking most of the boards out of the machine to get at the hinge bolts.  Of course, you COULD do that with a Nagra.  Any such action I ever took with a DAT ended disastrously...

Philip Perkins