"tri-level" sync on multi-cam EFP video shoots

Larry Kaltenbach

Assuming no double-sound in this question, just multiple video cameras each recording sound...

I've been doing ENG/EFP sound for 23 years and haven't "genlocked" a multi-camera shoot in over a decade. I recently picked up the Wolf Seeberg "24P For Sound And Video Assist", which was published in 2005, and am reading about all sorts of "green flashes" and missing frames in video if one doesn't "tri-level sync" all 24P cameras on a multi- camera shoot with either a Ambient or Denecke sync box.

Can anyone tell me if I should REALLY be using such devices and practices on all multi-camera ENG/EFP shoots, and if so, why? What career-ending things will occur? I haven't received a single phone call ever regarding sync problems, missing video frames, or anything similar. Have I just gotten lucky, at someone else's expense?

Thanks,

Larry K.

Larry, there have been lots of threads about this.  You can search some key words and find lots of information.

My short opinion is that I have never run tri-level either, and have never had a problem.  With the RED (and perhaps other file-based systems), TC is dropped in as a marker, so continuous sync has no affect on sound issues or EXT/INT clock issues.  Genlock might matter for some multiple camera high-tech/3D shoots, but in those cases it'll be a DIT that handles it.

Robert