Sanken COS 11 cable noise

Rasmus Wedin

Hi!

Since I'm still pretty new in the business, I just recently started buying my own gear. One of the first things I bought was a Sanken COS 11 lav, since other mixers seem to like them so much. And, yes, it does sound realy good, but I'm just getting so much cable noise, I find it realy hard to hide it. I can get the area around the mic quite, but the cable is just killing me, even if I loop it. I used a DPA 4061 today on a shoot and found it to have much less cable noise, and wasn't a problem concealing at all. I'm starting to think I got a faulty COS 11, might this be the case? Anybody got a similar experience?

What level is your gain set at?  On my lectros I use a very low gain level and never have issues with any cable noise, but I could see it being an issue if your gain is set real high, like past 12 o clock on a lectro.

I realy don't see how that could be the problem. I set the gain so that the talents voice is at a desired level and relative to that there is alot of cable noise. Pulling down the level would also pull down the talents voice.

Or do you meen noise from simply pulling the gain up too high, like hisses and hums? I'm not talking about that, I'm having problem with noise of things (like cloaths) touching the mic cable.

Most likely your hearing noisy wardrobe. I had talent today with a cos-11 in her clevage in a hush lav. Sounded fine she changed shirts and fabric noise. I use cos-11 all the time with gain at 10 o clock with no issues