Pro Audio To Go

post-1-0-35870900-1325607989.jpg

Not exactly "Recording Direct to Computer" but sort of. I have had no experience with this but looks interesting.

"Pro Audio To Go turns your iPhone into a 48 kHz professional audio recorder for use on location by news reporters, journalists, documentarians, musicians, DSLR videographers, filmmakers, producers and editors. With a single tap on your phone, you can record an AIFF audio file in 48 kHz. Upload the file directly to an FTP server or email it, then download and instantly begin using it in your editing system's Timeline. No conversion necessary!"

Pro Audio To Go

Last month I saw a review of a interesting device from Fostex that sells for about $150.00. It will cradle an iPhone, and on insertion of that device automatically connects it to two directional mics mounted on it that can be swiveled so you can have two tracks of what you're shooting, or you can have one mic aimed at the subject and 180 the other around so the camera (phone) person can conduct an interview and their side of the conversation recorded on a separate track. I think this will be a game changer, especially after seeing a clip from a, well, I suppose one could still call it a "film" that was shot entirely on a cel phone. We're living in interesting times indeed.......

Jerry

Maybe with an external higher quality microphone perhaps. Also the Sound Devices MixPre-D can be used into the iPad as well.

Or the Blue Stuff:

http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/10/blue-microphones-tiki-mikey-digital-and-spark-digital-hands-on/

• 3 months later...

BEFORE, all you had to do was throw a Zoom like a ninja star at whatever makes noise on set and *BAM!* you've got perfect sound!

NOW, all you have to do is throw your iPhone like a ninja star!