Lav on baseball cap

AndyB

Hi all. I'm going to be doing a shoot with a guy who normally wears a baseball cap, and I've been thinking about running the lav up to the bill of the cap instead of hiding it under the shirt. I've never tried this method before, but I've heard that it can give better sound and less chance of the voice being off axis. Anyone used this method succesfully (or unsuccesfully)?

It can be successful, given the right circumstances.

Is it supposed to be completely hidden? That could prove to be a problem if he leans back... and... DADAA Lavalier in frame! Or if the lav is big, like a DPA, it could easily poke out...

I wouldn't try hiding it where hat meets forehead, it could be a tight squeeze and a cap is pretty hard... could be noisy. But again, I have limited experience with caps, and I exclusively use DPAs...

The cable from the cap down to the back of course... if he has no hair to tuck it under.

It's a good idea on paper, and always hard for an outsider to answer. I say GO if your subject is often sitting still or is a lot shorter than the camera op.. And if he has long hair.

Another issue of course is that when talents have lavs under their clothes it's a lot harder for them to forget they're wearing it. A cap is so easy to just take off and not think about the fact that there's an expensive mic under there..

Try it!

Used the "mounted in the hat" technique several times and most often with success. It is a wonderful place to put the mic in terms of sound pickup --- no head turns, no clothing rustle, etc., but it does have one particular aspect that is often the deal breaker. You have almost no protection against the mic or cable being seen if the person wearing the hat looks up and the camera can see under the brim of the hat. This is also something you have no control over and it is something that a camera operator might not notice (but could be very well noticed "on the big screen").