How Clean Are Your Sound Devices 744t Pres?

myke2241

I am pretty new to Sound Devices recorders so my benchmark has been stuff i have heard while editing and cleaning DX. I purchased the recorder second hand from a guy here in LA who stated the recorder was a backup and hardly used. The hiss has been driving me nuts. i am unsure if this is normal among SD recorders. I wanted to survey JW members before sending her off to the mothership. how clean are your 744t pres?

I added two sample files. The pre settings are as named

50%-36.wav

75%-50.wav

What microphones are you using? Is this going direct into the recorder, or through a mixer?

Seriously, SD's preamps are first-rate, throughout their entire line. I generally go through a mixer first, but I've done a handful of jobs directly through the 744 and they sound fine (using either Sennheiser or Schoeps condensors).

OP FWIW I too am a new SD owner, I bought the 702 brand new from B&H and I have the ever popular Sony MDR-7506 headphones. I was hearing a hiss too that was low, but enough to drive me insane considering what I paid over the price of all other two channel recorders. Well after lots of playing and picking up a pair of Sennheiser HD-650 headphones I learned that the hiss is from the internal headphone amp in the SD recorder. The files I had sounded perfect on my PC using an ASUS Xonar Essence ST sound card and the HD-650 cans and the hiss was all but gone when using the HD-650's plugged into the 702 headphone monitor port. Seems like their headphone amp does a much better job with high impedance headphones than lower ones. I haven't had a chance to listen to your files yet, but perhaps you're seeing the same results I was for the same reason.

Thanks for the quick replies guys. i guess i am just a little crazy ;D.

Check to see if the phantom Is on 48 not 12.

I dont think you have a choice between 12v and 48v with the 744. i'll check though.