Intellectual property

Tim M

Hello Mr. Wexler,

Considering forums, do you know if direct quotes from this forum can be printed without having to seek the request of the writer? This is considering using in a commercial sense. Do magazines like sound & picture for example ever quote subjects and writings from this forum? and is it legal to do so? and what considerations do you know must be taken into account to have it be legal...

Thanks much!

Tim

It depends. When you say, "commercial" sense, do you mean it's being used to sell a product, or do you mean you'd be quoting something in an article? There's definitely a difference, as I believe "fair use" comes into play for editorial product (and there are specific guidelines as to under what conditions, and how much you can quote), whereas, if it's being used to sell a product, I'd say you definitely need to get permission.

However, take my comments as general and definitely not specific advice as I'm not an expert in this area -- I know just enough to know when I need to find out more.

I hope Jim Feeley and/or Jay Rose weigh in on this. They've both had extensive experience in writing and submitting articles for publication.

I will say that when possible, it's good form to get permission, as a courtesy, if nothing else.

NOTE: I didn't realize until after I'd posted this that you had addressed the question specifically to Jeff. I was not trying to speak for him.

Edited by John Blankenship

Considering forums, do you know if direct quotes from this forum can be printed without having to seek the request of the writer? This is considering using in a commercial sense.