Wireless: what to buy?

Stijn

Hi guys,

I'm still quite new here, so if this question is in the wrong forum, just let me know and I'll try to move it.

I'm a sound artist and unfortunately not a trained technician. For a new project I need to work with 6 wireless transmitter / reciever packs, walking around in the city.

I've checked with the usual firm where I rent my super high end equipment, and they gave me an offer for 5 weeks rent of 6 Sennheiser SK5212-II + EK3241. I have worked with those once before and they worked beautifully. However, our budget is limited, and we were wondering if it wouldn't be cheaper to buy the transmitter/recievers (especially in the long run, with doing at least 10 shows with this piece). Buying 6 of the Sennheiser ones is out of the question, that's way beyond our budget.

So here's my question: does anyone know of some wireless packs that are good, can attach to DPA 4060's and are in the price range of 500 - 750 euro per pack. and where you can use 6 of them at the same time, and are at the same time not too prone to RF interference (we will be walking around in the city, so in the midst of telefone, wifi, electrical fields and radio signals

i've heard sony made some decent ones that were in this price range, but unfortunately I don't know make and model.

If you could help me out, and suggest some brands and models I could check out, I'd be very grateful.

Kind regards

Stijn

oh, and I believe I should mention this: I'm based in Brussels, Belgium (Europe), and at the moment, we're hoping to get some European shows, so the transmitter / receivers should work on frequencies cleared for Europe

Yes, you can buy wireless in that price range from a number of manufacturers. However, they won't be as versatile or high quality as the Sennheisers you have previously worked with.