JW power supply

Philip Perkins

The simplest way to describe the cart power supplies I have been building for the last 10 years or so is to let you know the main components: sealed lead acid batteries and regulated DC power supply --- it's that simple. No charge circuit, no standby UPS stuff, no inverters, etc. I use either linear power supplies (with transformers and available new or through surplus) or switching power supplies (more on the type later) that when plugged into AC (usually 90 volts to 240 volts) put out 13.8 volts DC at around 10 amps. This is connected to the battery and then the equipment, the load, is also connected to the battery. When plugged into AC, the DC from the power supply floats across the battery keeping a fully charged battery, fully charged. When the equipment is powered up and drawing considerably less than 10 amps, the battery stays charged and everything is happy. If there is no AC or the AC gets pulled accidentally (does that every happen?) the equipment is still getting DC but now off of only the battery. There is no noise, no charging circuit to introduce any trouble, the equipment is quite happy to be powered off the battery. When the AC returns, whatever has been drawn off the battery is replenished. It is an elegantly simple system that has been 100% reliable for the last 10 years or so.