iOS 6 (yikes!)

Johnny Karlsson

So, I have been using Apple products since 1998, when I bought a G3 to run Cubase VST for music production. Love most of their stuff in general.

Now, iOS 6. (more like pOS 6)

I did the update last night and really wish I could go back to the previous version. Why?

- The Maps App sucks. No street view, stuff missing/wrong etc.

- Crashing !!! Almost never had this happen to my iPhone before. Simple things, such as moving an app to a different place on the dashboard restarts the phone (wtf!?!)

-Passbook - maybe I'm missing something, but the only thing that happens when I open this app is nothing. The one and only button that says "App Store" opens App Store and a banner comes up "cannot connect to the App Store". Funny thing is that if I hit search or top 25 etc. - it's connected.

-App Store. Buttons such as "Install", "Free" and such display garbage code like "+K2DActionButton.button.Text.Open" - are we beta testing here???

Steve Jobs would be outraged.

Ok, rant over.

I'm happy as well.. Have no issues at all, in fact I feel like the phone is a bit faster... That might have something to do with me erasing a lot of pictures though.

Sad to hear you're having problems

But I agree, the map app sucks. I used google maps like crazy before, and this is very, very embarrassing for Apple.

Google will probably release a standalone maps.app for iOS. They are about to lose a few million users in the next 4 days as people get new phone, and update old devices. Google doesn't make a dime when you don't use their services. Google has said they would never release the navigation part of their maps app for the iOS version, and reserve it for Android. In that aspect, Apple stepped up and provided a bundled one. Supposedly that app will be sharing data with Waze, and that info is far superior to google when it comes to traffic issues.