How important is it to STAY as a mixer??

I've been reading "old schools" post on being a boom op before a mixer, and this thought came to mind. I have been doing "sound" for 15 years. Professionally for 7 years. Started out editing on real-to-real, moved into production sound after school. First job was as a boom op for a 4 day shoot, in windy locations, and holding an mkh70 all day. Almost made me NOT want to be a boom op. Next 7 years, I was doing it all, ENG, Booming, Mixing with and without boom ops. And the last 5 years I've been mixing exclusively. A local sound mixer, and good friend, asked if I'd be interested in booming for him for a small commercial. I said yes without any hesitation. When I got to the set, several crew members were shocked to see my swinging the pole and not on my butt behind the mixer. Is this generally frowned upon?

My feelings are that I am simply glad to be in the sound department, no matter what the position is. Will this eventually hurt my chances at being the next "mixer" someone calls? Will they think "he was a boom op on the last job, maybe he's a bad mixer". Which takes me back to "old schools" post...I would rather have an experienced mixer swinging the pole than a PA!!

Mike