Apparent audio failure into Sony F55

I was cabled up to a Sony F55 today, and realized near the end of a long day that despite hearing a consistent and good return monitoring signal, movement in the camera's audio meters had ceased at some point in the last hour. We confirmed via last clip playback that the camera had stopped recording audio, even while continuing to allow for a good return path (to a Sound Devices 322 mixer).

How could this be possible, and has anyone else encountered this deadly malfunction? We went through trouble shooting, even as other crews were breaking down, and used another available camera to verify that everything in my audio package was normal.

I have had little prior experience connected to the F55, but this was the last of a number of observations during the day that did not make me a fan of this machine. I feel sorry for the DP, who has a perplexing problem to solve.

Note to self - negotiate to see the meters even when everyone is busy, tired, distracted, etc. Up until today, I could not have imagined that a cabled monitoring return could allow for a false indication that a signal was being recorded. Another lesson on the board, and an anxiety producing one at that. Looking forward to hearing if others have experienced this issue.

Grant.

Being able to see the camera's meters is a great idea, but not always possible even with cameras that have meters visible in other then the VF anymore (and shooters often turn those off).  You listened to your return, you did your job.  This kind of weird failure is why, many years ago, I made recording a backup SOP, even when it was just to a non-TC recorder, in order to have something to pass on.  Sometimes it was a camera failure, sometimes in the heat of things the hook-up wasn't made, sometimes the settings on the camera were wrong or had been whacked.  A backup recording of some kind allows you to save the job, basically.