Rackmount monitors and shipping cases

Noah Timan

Hi all,

I know some of you who have posted cart pictures use a dual-monitor rackmount setup for your video monitors and wondering if any of you can comment, suggest, discourage, etc on particular models.  Ideally I'm looking for a setup where the monitors could receive broadcast but I don't think there are any out there that do so.

I'm also going to get a shipping case for a rig I'm building and am curious about pros and cons of the various ones.  I know many people use the SKB cases and any information and experience with those or others would also be very helpful.

Thanks very much!

Noah,

I'm no expert, so I'm just going to give you my personal thoughts on your topic.

In regards to "rackmount monitors", you first have to decide how much rack space you want to use and whether or not you want monitors that accept SD and HD. There are dozens of ways to go.

You can go high end and purchase Marshall: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/372569-REG/Marshall_V_R72P_2HDSDI_V_R72P_2HDSDI_Dual_7_Inch_LCD.html

If you want monitors with tuners you can try Delvcam, distributed by Markertek:

http://www.markertek.com/Product.asp?baseItem=DELV%2D2LCD%2D7XLS&cat=VIDEOEQUIP&subcat=VIDMON&prodClass=LCDMON&mfg=delvcam&search=0&off=

What I currently have is 2 Lilliput monitors placed in a rackplate. (see the photo below)

This was an idea from Brett Grant Grierson. I can recieve the transmitted signal from the cameras, or with the use of a baluns, I can get a video feed from video assist through a cat-5 cable.

Simple and very inexpensive. (there are numerous threads on video through Cat-5 cable on this forum.)

In regards to rack cases - there are many brands to choose from. If you ever visit NAB in Vegas, your head will spin when you see how many case manufacturers there are!