Senn Evolution 500 receivers - rackmount vs bodypack (EM 500 G2 vs EK 500 G2)

Danijel Milosevic

Hi all! A post-production guy here, occasionally jumping over to locations to feed the family and breathe some fresh air.

I'm about to shoot a low-budget this summer in Serbia (where I live), and the production is still undecided if they will be renting good equipment (Cantar, Lectrosonics etc.), or buy their own for about 12k euros. Wireless will be dominant over boom on this movie, because of wide angles and long scene-shots, so we have to have 5-6 wireless sets, and all we can squeeze in this budget are the Sennheiser Evolution 500 series. Now, I am positive they will do just fine on this project, as I have visited the locations, went through script etc, and I have extensive experience with the Evolution 500 stuff. In fact, I know that rackmount receivers would work for me, but I'm curious about the performance of body-packs, which I have never used. I'm obviously interested in them because of their size and portability. I imagine I could mount them very close to the frame edge and very fast.....

What I'm interested in is, has anyone had experience with both kinds or receivers, the rackmount and the bodypack? How would you describe the difference in reliability of reception?

Here are the contenders (they cost about the same):

EM 500 G2

167033.jpg

http://www.sennheisernordic.com/nordic/icm_eng.nsf/root/products_wireless-systems_evolution_series500_21630

EK 500 G2

167031.jpg

http://www.sennheisernordic.com/nordic/icm_eng.nsf/root/21631

Thank you!

Danijel Milosevic

www.danijelmilosevic.com