newbie needs a sound cart, any tips?

Alan A

Hello everyone, Im a film student, and I am getting into production sound mixing. I have worked on tons of shoots (indy mostly) as a sound mixer and love it! But I don't yet have a sound cart, I am thinking of building one but don't know of any good places to get the materials except 80/20 but would like input on designs, A couple things I had in mind for the cart,

I want to be able to tuck my Pelican 1620 case on the cart, (somewhere on the bottom)

I just want a cart that's simple and sweet, a couple shelves and maybe a drawer.

I also need it to be able to collapse, to fit in my little car ( or small enough to fit)

Here is my setup.

Aaton Cantar X2

(no mixer board yet but coming soon)

2 Sennheiser mkh shotguns

2 Sennheiser Lav mics

2 50' XLR

2 25' XLR

1 duplex

2 Rycote windscreen kits

1 Mini laptop ( for Tarkan and Majax)

2 Bose noise canceling headphones

Its a pretty small setup at the moment, but I'm just getting started so I'm going to be improving much more as I go along. But if anyone has any tips about building a good rig I would love the input.

Thanks all!

You will most probably have to build something if you are not able to find a used cart from someone else. As you probably know, there is a shortage of available new carts from any manufacturer because so many sound mixers build their own. The PSC cart is available, new and used (if you can find one) and various versions of soundcarts built on Magliner handtruck-type chassis. One cart which is generally overlooked although it has been around for awhile, Don Coufal just reminded me of this one, could be a good starting point to build something. Check it out at Marty Atias' site: http://atscomms.com/Sales/Products/Multicart/index.html

and also at this site: http://www.handtrucksrus.com/crashdetail.aspx?id=458&cx=rock

Regards,  Jeff Wexler

post-1-130815080069_thumb.jpg