Cinela MS Windshields for Schoeps CMC

Davinzzie

Hi, this is my first post on this forum. I am a sound designer for over 20 years, and I am a little late to the wonderful world of Mid/Side recording.

I recently purchased a Schoeps CMC XT Mk41 and Mk8 pair for exterior recording. To my knowledge the best way to properly record M/S is with the shoulders and the capsules of the mics as close together as possible. 

Reading a lot of reviews and comments on this forum, I find the Cinela Zephyx or the Piano system with the double suspension really attractive. However, when I look at the pictures on their website I find that the verticale distance between the two mics is significant.

Is there anyone that has some experience with this system from Cinela and what is your opinion on this? Is this optimal or does this not really matter? And do you have experience with the Rycote Cyclone system or the "normal" system as well and what are your findings with those?

We are all aiming for the highest audio quality as possilble, but I don't want to make a $1000+ dollar mistake, so I hope you can help me out.

Cheers,

Vincent

1024_cinela_z-cmc-ms.jpg

cinela-cinela-piani-2-cmc-cmc.jpg

089114-stereo_cyclone_kit_5_view3.jpg

Zephyx have a removable basket, so you can use it naked, inside cars,  interiors or reduced spaces, piano or pianissimo have fix basket.
the vertical distance is not a problem.
I'm a Zephyx ccm ms user for many years
with amazing results on the field, incredible wind protection.
fully recommended !!
Cinela also has an excellent customer attention , you can contact them for any replacement parts or doubts
also they have _Kelly_ for rain situation
something useful for designers.

the very best!!

Just going by the pictures, the capsules are aligned much better on the Rycote Cyclone, I think. Vertically and horizontally. But I can’t tell you if that makes an audible difference.