IRT Cross vs A Format for sound-only ambience

SimonL

Hi there folks

Medium term lurker and first time poster here, hoping to gather some experience and input to supplement my research and tests (and confirm my biases haha).

I've been asked to record the night-time ambience during seabird breeding season, on islands that are an ongoing conservation project.  The intended usage is not 100% clear, but will include using the soundscape during events promoting the conservation project, and it may be part of a museum installation about the islands in the future.

I'm a music soundie by trade, in live sound and recording at the classical & arts end of the spectrum.  I've done only a bit of post sound for picture, and no location sound (but plenty of live recording).  I've been wanting to get into field recording for pleasure and raw material for a while, hence my lurking here.

My inclination is to try harder than stereo only, and capture this in a surround format.  Partly this is due to the sound-only immersive usage of the resulting material, and partly because I'm learning about surround and have recently upgraded my studio to a decent 5.1 system.  As a music guy inlcuding classical, I'm much more drawn to spaced microphone arrays from a sound aspect, but I appreciate the utility of a coincident setup, particuarly in a situation like this.

Budget is minimal (this is a volunteer effort).  After research, I've come down to two options:

1. Purchase Rycote BBG's + windjammers and deploy four of my Schoeps MK4's I already have in an IRT cross on hardware I already have. 

2. For only slightly more than the Rycote's, I could purchase a Rode NT-SF1 A format mic.  Exotic location mic hire options are pretty slim here.