Got My first Doc Feature (In need of sage wisdom)

JtotheH

Hey People,

I'm a newer mixer but I've been a studio engineer for many years. Just moved to NYC and through connections and other smaller jobs I got a feature Documentary. It will be taking me inside mildly high profile courtrooms, into high profile law offices / transporting SUV's. I feel confident in my kit (Mixpre 10t / Tentacle Sync / 416, MKH 40, Sanken Cub / G4 500 wireless x3 & Lectrosonics LMa/UCR 100 x1). 

Things I am NOT confident about:  Which Mic to use in a courtroom. Pretty sure it'll be packed and not massive, so do I go with the directionality of the 416 or avoid phase problems / having to stick out with movement and mic size and go with MKH40. And, any good tips for courtroom protocol?

Also, I am going to be under pressure to get rather fast post-trial banter in cars going to and fro law firm. There will *maybe* be enough time to get the main subject wired up but that's it. I am thinking of either using an Ursa lav mount and putting a cos-11 on the back of one of the seats, clamping my MKH 40 somewhere or using the Cub on the roof. If I just saw screw it and throw the "heavy duty" velcro on the roof I think it will hold for the ride. What seems smartest? Gladly will hear a better idea. 

And...I have never worked with this older series of Lectros. I am really nervous to be doing setting the freq with RF explorer and then using a little screwdriver. Does anyone have any stellar tips or should I just play it safe and borrow another G4? Also, this is NOT in NYC. It's in vegas. 

Thank you a million million times. Any tips are appreciated. May your day be pleasant and painless.

Congratulations! I've covered several court cases, though mostly as a print journalist and producer. And couple as sound. So I'm not an expert but since JWSG is part of the Internet, that shouldn't stop me. And hopefully your producers have things under control... Anyway: