2020 IRS form W4

stacysound

The IRS is pumping out a new form W4 and it looks complicated AF for us freelancers who have multiple employers + 1099 income.

No more "# of dependents". It looks like it was created with a single employer in mind. Looks like it wants your annual income to judge how much Federal Tax should be withheld.

Anyone received any "legal" advice?

https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/faqs-on-the-2020-form-w-4?fbclid=IwAR0uFZcsCL2CLo6plR6bHlBJEjZkie-cVYAiVE3LWoyyYTqb3HkYtFJUhQ0

The FAQ is full of corporate-speak and sounds like it's trying to hide "we want to give you fewer opportunities to take advantage of the actual tax law", IMHO. 

I'm not a lawyer or CPA. As far as I can see

1) The multiple jobs estimator (https://apps.irs.gov/app/tax-withholding-estimator/income-and-withholding) referred to in the new W4's instructions actually has room for freelancers who work on a gig-by-gig basis. And it lets you include the low-paying jobs to reduce the average.

2) It might be worthwhile getting an "04" number as a sole proprietorship, and filing a schedule C for your professional earnings. It's free. 

2a) That also makes it easier to deduct for your professional expenses and depreciation and things like business mileage on your car. I've been doing that for years, and when a client requires a W4 or has to withhold because of local film tax rebates, I use the 04 number.

2b) Some producer bookkeepers have complained that they need an SS number rather than the 04. They're wrong. The old w4 even had a place where you could submit the 04 instead of the SS. 

2c) End of year, my accountant computes my tax by taking the Schedule C bottom line as my income on the 1040. Then he uses any withheld money to reduce the tax due on the 1040. 

3)  It may even be legal to submit the old form in place of the new one. See 2b, and check with your lawyer or accountant.