Main Out or Sub Out in the Zoom F8n?

JeffWWaldrop

I am capturing sound with a Zoom F8n and want to pipe it right into the Mic Input on my DSLR.  I am a newbie, so in my mind, this method leaves out the syncing of Audio (better captured with quality mics / equipment) with the Video my DSLR captures.  

My question is:  Is there any advantage of Main Out vs Sub Out on the Zoom F8n?  I have male to male 1/8" cables I am able to use Sub Out right away with no adapters or other cables.  The Main Out outputs are TA3 jacks and I would need an adapter to go from TA3 to 1/8" male.  

What do you guys and gals do?

Jeff W Waldrop

The main out is a balanced signal (for longer cable runs or professional gear) and the sub out is an unbalanced signal. For your DSLR ist's fine to use the sub out as far as the cable from the recorder to the camera is not to long (because of possible interferences). You can record directly to your DSLR but the preamps on these cameras are only consumer level so keep the levels on the camera low and feed it with a strong signal from your recorder. Usually camera sound is only used as scratch sound and you sync the audio from the recorder to the image in post to get better results.

Greetings 

8 minutes ago, pillepalle said:

The main out is a balanced signal (for longer cable runs or professional gear) and the sub out is an unbalanced signal. For your DSLR ist's fine to use the sub out as far as the cable from the recorder to the camera is not to long (because of possible interferences). You can record directly to your DSLR but the preamps on these cameras are only consumer level so keep the levels on the camera low and feed it with a strong signal from your recorder. Usually camera sound is only used as scratch sound and you sync the audio from the recorder to the image in post to get better results.

Greetings 

Thanks, Pillepalle,