Future path/career musings, looking for advice or input

Conor

Greetings, denizens of JWSound

Some background: (may be a bit long-winded but context is a good thing I hope)

I'm a sound-engineering diploma graduate (not that the qualification really counts for much), aspiring to build a career in either location or post, though I know I'll likely end up focusing on one discipline and dabbling in the other. I don't have any post work experience, but have invested in basic home studio gear and software and am teaching myself in my spare time at home when I can (really just basics & personal/friends projects thus far).

I started out after college in location sound, and was lucky enough to get onto a decent long-format drama gig as a boom op fairly quickly. The mixer I worked under was gracious enough to take me from pretty much 0 experience in location sound under his wing to becoming a half decent boom op by the end of the shoot. 
From there I worked mostly as a boom op for a while on various gigs gotten through word of mouth or people I met - tried agents but didn't have much luck getting work through them. Work dried up for a while and I wasn't able to sustain myself any more doing this, and got other work outside of the industry.

Eventually I got a call about another big long-format gig and took that, was about 6 months. On this shoot I really cut my teeth as an audio utility as well as boom op, getting a bit more responsibility handling & applying lavs to the actors for the mixer in question, managing Tx/Rxs, so I learned quite a bit more on this job. However, after the job was over I struggled to find work again. I just didn't have the intimate knowledge of a lot of the gear required to take on work as a mixer and the competition for work as boom op / utility seemed quite high.