First time filmmaker with basic questions on sound

solitudesblind

I'm doing my first real (Something with external sound equipment) short film and I'm just learning. I got some help from a guy on the IMDb message boards and with that I ordered the Sennheiser ME66/K6 combo and a Boss BR-532 recorder. I was also advised to get two XLR cables and to buy a boom, shockmount and zeppelin. Why would I need two XLR cables instead of one, and what are a shockmount and zeppelin?

I used a K6/ME66 on my first low-budget feature. Whilst I thought it was a great mic at the time, I have recently "upgraded" to the stalwart MKH416 and the difference is staggering.

If you can afford a MKH416-P48 (there's plenty on eBay usually, that's where I got mine!) I would recommend that over the K6/ME66 as a first mic.

Why would I need two XLR cables? I figured one from the mic to the recorder would be all I needed.

Since I'm extremely strapped for funds, I figured I'd build my own boom. Since it is an indoor shoot I wouldn't need a zeppelin right?