glove noise?

Doug Brandon

I'm a boom operator and have seen many others wear gloves when they operate the pole. I've tried this a couple of times and was not satisfied. I've come up with a few considerations: gloves keep natural grease and oils from your hands off the pole which may help in keeping the pole clean-I like to clean equipment on a regular basis anyway; it certainly keeps your hands clean––if you must adjust a wire on an actor, it's nice to have hands already free from dirt; occasionally, when having to move the hands on the pole, if in a warm invironment, the hands might tend to cling to the pole and create a small booming or popping noise when making adjustments; once in a while my fingers have not settled properly (the thumb seems to be the usual suspect) and my skin may tend to make its own last minute adjustment and create some kind of audio anomaly which I must later explain was not the pole bumping into something along the way. I've also experienced a different kind of handling noise when wearing gloves and havn't given it the time to work it out.

My final mode of operation, I only keep gloves in my pocket for when I have to work with dirty cables. I don't care for them when handling the pole. I like the solid grip of bare hands.  I feel there's a hair better reaction to unexpected moves. And mostly, I like the idea that I and the boom pole are as one (the Tao of boom operating).