A Question or two about BoomRecorder

Hi there.

This is a great discussion group. I've been dropping by to read the posts now and then, but recently decided to take the plunge and join.

My background is in music recording and production - studio and live - so I am a big fan of recording digitally directly into a computer using an interface and DAW program.

But for doing location work it's sometimes impractical to set up a laptop and rack recording gear, so I have a couple of field recorders for when I am working "out of a bag".

Here is my question...

I am interested in being able to offer time code enabled work flows to my clients. BoomRecorder looks like a very cool  application for tracking location sound. From what I can understand it can grab LTC striped to an audio track and map it to the proper metadata bucket so I can generate BWFs with any computer recording rig. Is this correct?

If so, can I record field audio using a dedicated field recorder and import the mono WAV files into BoomRecorder? I am thinking if I can use a SMPTE TC generator like a Denecke SB-T or SB-3 or something comparable to jam and stripe LTC to one of the tracks, I can time code enable my current rig instead of having to get a new multi-track field recorder like a Sound Devices 7xx-T.

Can you do a simple mix of a multi-track to say a stereo BWF in BoomRecorder? My clients aren't interested in mixing audio in their video NLEs and just want a stereo file from me. If I can deliver a mixed stereo BWF with time code then that would be great.

Finally, I was wondering if anyone here can give me a recommendation as to a good standard DAW with native support for SMPTE time code and surround. I know Pro-Tools LE with the DV toolkit does this, but I would like to steer clear of Digi. I don't want to have to get their hardware to be able to use the software.

Thank you!