RF Splitter education

Michael P Clark

I've been using Dipole antennas for several years now, and am thinking about Sharkfins alot. I typically only run 4 wireless at once, and figured I am fine with 1 Sharkfin antenna rig. I have noticed that most of you cart based mixers are using 2 sharkfins in an array. So here comes the questions....

How many is too many wireless for 1 Sharkfin?

Any Signal loss the more wireless are placed on 1 Sharkfin?

What is the ideal seperation of 2 Sharkfin antenna in an array?

Longest cable run before an RF Boost is needed?

Do you want to connect 1 or both antennas from the receiver, to the same or different Sharfin Antenna?

Do you like Yagi's better than Sharkfin's?

I know it's alot to ask but it would all coome out eventually. Thanks in advance!

Michael, I've been using shark fin antennas for a while now and like them quite a bit. I had a situation where I needed to be over 300 feet away from four actors in a sewer tunnel and called Gordon at Lectro asking how I could remote four antennas on an antenna tree that far away from the receivers. He told me to use 50ohm video cable up to 100 feet, which I did with great results. I've used 100 feet of antenna cable on many occasions, mostly during cold weather so that I can stay on the camera truck in the warm!

Peter Devlin uses Swiss army antennas on his rig, which are omni directional. I have one for my IFB, but prefer the SFs for directionality with my Lectros.

Regards

Mick

Michael Wrote:

"I've been using Dipole antennas for several years now, and am thinking about Sharkfins alot. I typically only run 4 wireless at once, and figured I am fine with 1 Sharkfin antenna rig. I have noticed that most of you cart based mixers are using 2 sharkfins in an array. So here comes the questions...."

"How many is too many wireless for 1 Sharkfin?"

- Would not run more than 2 without some sort of active splitter with built in amplification to make up the loss of adding more receivers.