What is the deal with unions?

Brian Maier

Im still pretty new to production sound with around a dozen projects mixing and/or booming under my belt.  Can someone give me the low down on the various unions?  How do they work?  How do you get in/out?  Benifits?  Experiences?  I'll be honest I have never been a huge fan of "Unions", but it seems that it is the nature of the industry so I would like to learn how they work. Thanks!

Brian