Alternatives to "Straddle Bag" for hop receivers

jonathan chiles

Hi all

I have been using straddle bags for 2 x 411 Rx for a few years but am getting interested in finding an alternative. I am working on a show with a Sony XDCam 700 and the receiver on the left is blocking the LCD display, I either need to get myself a Lectro SRa or find a better mounting solution.

Would like to know what works for you guys who are still sticking 2 x 411 on a camera??

Also does anyone know of a Anton Bauer type mounting plate that will fit the Sony XDCam, we are using the V lock batteries.

" find a better mounting solution. "

I've mentioned this before: this is really up to the camera folk(s), isn't it??

I always carry Velcro and also a belt rig with a short mult cable that can carry 2x Audio + DC, --with 411's or even along with an SR including adapters to mount in a hot-shoe, or under a camcorder.-- BEC boxes, and saddlebags, too.. There is only so much I can provide...

How about Norbert ??

I am working on a show with a Sony XDCam 700 and the receiver on the left is blocking the LCD display,

I've got both the straddle bag and Sony PDW-700. The bag won't block the display if you mount it on top of the (v-lock) battery. It's still easy enough to change batteries. Just don't tighten the bottom strap too much.

I work with a lot of cameras that don't take regular BEC stuff and don't have external power taps. The single straddle bag seems to work better than anything we've tried for the SRa, (not that it works all that well). Many cameras are so small and so covered with buttons that however you mount the RX it's going to have to be easily moveable. All the hardware solutions we came up with for these sorts of cameras (esp F3, AF100, etc)--usually to the handle or thereabouts, the shooters hated. They were ok with the straddle bag.

phil p

Here's what I use for my Zaxcom link. You could use the Petrol "double pouch" the same way for your twin 411's.