Surround Sound Workflow Help - Re-recording Mixer and Composer

rach333

Hey all😄,

I am working on an indie film project as the Sound Editor and re-recording mixer. It's a dramedy with all original music including some punk, choir, and classical music. This is my first time mixing in surround. I've spoken to the composer about receiving a Pro Tools session of mixed stems when I was originally mixing in stereo but the added surround element is confusing me. 

I was wondering about the deliverables I should ask from the composer so that I have leg room to adjust the panning of instruments and reverb panning of their mix. Should I ask the composer to only use 5.1 plugins? Should I ask them to pre-mix the choir or classical music as they see fit in 5.1 staying out of the center channel or does the re-recording mixer usually upmix the score to 5.1 once receiving a stereo mix.

I was thinking of asking for a Pro Tools session with pre-mixed stems, with a separate stem for reverb. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!