Audio setup advice

Chris990

Hi guys,

I’m looking to upgrade my current audio setup and take it up a notch, and your help would be appreciated. Just as a bit of a context, I’m a shooting producer/director, or a one-man-band if you like, and mainly work on branded and documentary content and this setup I am looking into would be for those situations when I don’t have a sound recordist with me, when I do, they take care of all sound (obviously).

I currently have the following setup:

- Audio Technica AT4053B for indoor interview situations with boom on stand
- Rode VideoMic Pro that goes on top of the camera
- Rode Wireless Pro
- and I use the Canon C70 as my main camera

I want to keep the AT4056B as it’s great indoors. But not great for outdoor use. So I’m looking to complement that with a shotgun mic which will be used both for outdoor boom use and as a replacement for the Rode VideoMic Pro on top of the camera for more general b-roll or observational scene coverage. I am looking at the following mics, all in the £1000 range which is what I’m prepared to spend:

* DPA 2017
* Sanken CS-3e
* Sennheiser MKH 8060
* Sennheiser MKH 416

and potentially DPA 4017B, but it’s a bit of a stretch in terms of budget, and if I get into this territory then it means I need to consider Schoeps.. But only if they are really that much better than the ones above. I would rather stay closer to that £1000 range. There is also Rode NTG5 and NTG3 which are slightly cheaper.