most musical 4-8 channel digital recorder

grawk

I will start by saying I'm not a professional, and probably won't ever be a professional.  That said, I do a fair amount of remote recording, and am looking to upgrade my recorder.  I'm currently using a sound devices 552 preamp and recording using a zoom f6, but I'm exploring upgrading to a new (to me) Nagra VI, AETA 4MINX, Sonosax R4+, or Zaxcom Nova 2.  This seems like the place with the most members with experience with most of these recorders, so I was looking for opinions.  I was pretty set on the 4MINX, but some of the posts on here talk about distortion, so I was wondering how common that might be?  

My microphones are DPA 4015s and 4018s, and I'll probably add either an ambisonic mic or midsize pair in the future.  I generally record a mix of unamplified acoustic music (Americana etc) and amplified guitar based music in good sounding rooms.  I'm aware the differences are minor, but I don't collect classic cars or do drugs, so this is my choice for how to waste my money, and I'd like to waste it in the best possible way.  

I'd love to hear thoughts of people who'd care to share them.

If you aren't recording for film, most of the recorders we you list are overkill for you.  We use them because the suit our very particular workflows, not because the audio quality is thousands dollars better than the rest.